T2P trip to Germany and Poland

auschwitz-entrance-P
Hello and thank you for visiting! My name is Stephanie and I am currently a student at the University of Western Ontario in the Faculty of Education. I am in the Intermediate/Senior stream for History and English. At the end of our year in the Faculty of Education we are required to complete a Transition to Professional Practice (T2P) component to enrich our experience at Western and the skills we offer as future teachers. We were provided with many choices for our T2P experience but the Germany/Poland experience caught my eye immediately.

The Germany/Poland experience provides community service learning through Amizade (nonprofit organization) with a focus on Holocaust Remembrance. Included in the trip cost is a visit to Berlin, visit to the Galaciz Jewish Museum, Kazimierz, Weiliczka salt mine, and service work to be completed at Auschwitz and Jewish cemetery and the restoration of artifacts. The trip lasts from May 5th to 15th and the cost includes accommodations, meals, ground transportation, a 24/7 trip guide, flight, team leader contribution, and travel insurance.

The total cost of the trip is $3542. I have applied through Western’s Global Opportunities Award program and hope to be awarded a $1000 scholarship for my trip. This is why I am asking for help raising $2542 rather than the full cost of the trip.

Why this opportunity?

The definition of a global citizen is someone who identifies with being part of an emerging world community and whose actions contribute to building this community’s values and practices. This Transition to Professional Practice trip to Germany and Poland to work with survivors of the Holocaust and historians will provide me with first-hand knowledge that I will be able to use to educate students in the future. As the last remaining survivors of the Holocaust pass away in the near future, it is our responsibility as a world community to keep their memory and experience alive for future generations. Through this experience I will be one of the community members that will share the survivors’ experience with students in Canada. Future students may feel disconnected from the Holocaust because of a generational gap between students and survivors of the Second World War. Participating in this trip would allow me to provide the next generation with important knowledge to help bridge this gap.

This international experience will contribute to my professional goals in two ways: it will provide me with concrete knowledge that I will be able to interpret and present to future students in a high school setting, and it will allow me to work in a museum or archive setting that relates closely with the Second World War and the Holocaust. My long term goal is to become an Education Coordinator in a museum or archive. This would include bringing in school groups and preparing educational activities that ignite a fire of change under students. I want students to find a passion for history and I believe I will be able to gain knowledge that will increase my ability to inspire my students through this international experience.

Thank you for any help you can provide in terms of monetary donation and/or sharing on social media.
If you would like to support my cause click here: gofund.me/ks2wek

Stephanie

If you would like to learn more about the opportunity click here:
https://amizade.org/what-we-do/
https://amizade.org/site/poland/

Leave a Reply

